Goodbye for Now

Come Out, Virginia is over as a blog. The more I learn about my story–our story, the story of my childhood parish, the kids I went to school with, our parents, and the pastor who victimized all of us in so many ways–the more I learn that it is a much, much larger story than that of one little girl and her abuser.

As such, I am turning it into a much larger project. This story will now become the basis of my thesis for the Masters’ Program I have just begun. I am working under the guidance of experienced and talented professors and writers. My current mentor is a gifted teacher and incredibly encouraging in my endeavor. In any case, blog writing is different from longer narrative writing, graduate school will add stress to my already busy life, and I need to focus on my work and my family. Something’s gotta go, and I am afraid the blog is it.

I want to thank everyone who has gotten in touch with me. I know I haven’t come close to responding to everyone who has reached out to me, but your stories and thoughts have touched me so much. I will be contacting many of you as my research continues and will be happy to hear from anyone with questions, stories…anything. Email me at piissima (at) hotmail (dot) com or find the blog’s fan page on Facebook. I’ll be updating my progress on here from time to time, so don’t be a stranger, OK?

Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. You have blessed my life.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Goodbye for Now

  1. jill says:

    Thank you so much for including us in this phase, and very best wishes for the next!
    gratefully, jill

  2. Edward says:

    I feel that you’re the one who should be thanked.
    For coming out with your story, for opening our minds, for saying your part in the world-wide ongoing debate about Catholic pedophiles, or pedophiles in general.

    You inspired me to start my own anonymous blog and there tell my story, bits and pieces as often as I can handle to deal with it. Even if my subject is very different from the topic of this blog, you were my inspiration.

    So, thank you!

  3. Kim says:

    So I’ll switch my attention from here to Amazon to follow your excellent and important writing.

  4. not supergirl says:

    I’ve missed hearing your perspective since you went quiet. I wondered it it was too painful to continue. I’m glad to hear that you’re able to explore your experiences in a way that allows you to grow. All my best,
    J

Leave a Reply

